Author Topic: FPP NTP - does not seem to be working  (Read 877 times)

Offline rsi3

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
FPP NTP - does not seem to be working
« on: December 08, 2016, 12:39:52 PM »
Anyone having issues or success with the NTP setting?

I have a dual-homed Pi.  Wireless on my main network which has many machines/servers getting NTP properly & the other on my show network.

I have tried many variables on getting the time to sync properly with no luck.
Tried setting pool.ntp.org / windows.time.com; tried changing the zone to many options; tried reboots...

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Rick

Offline alphafilter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: FPP NTP - does not seem to be working
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2016, 07:41:14 PM »
I was running into this same issue.  During troubleshooting I dropped down into the shell of the Pi and noticed it could not resolve anything by name for example it couldn't resolve pool.ntp.org.  So i just grabbed one of their IP's that they use in their DNS answer (128.138.141.172) and put that in the Pi instead.  Seems to be working so far. The Pi is configured to use the same DNS servers my machines use so not sure what is going on there and didn't really take a lot of time to look into it.

Might want to try using an IP for NTP to see if that resolves your issue.


Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4159
    • View Profile
Re: FPP NTP - does not seem to be working
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2016, 07:44:27 PM »
I just leave the NTP server field blank and the FPP finds one.

Offline paddymctexan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: FPP NTP - does not seem to be working
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2016, 10:03:54 PM »
time.nist.gov

When I put a static IP the time did not work all the time. I had to reboot to get it to sync on mine but its working fine after I set a reservation on my router for each of my FPP's and that way DHCP picks up the same IP each time. With the reservation and short lease time it seems to be working fine now.

Pat

Offline drlucas

  • Code-Testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 311
    • View Profile
Re: FPP NTP - does not seem to be working
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2016, 04:48:09 AM »
I have three FPPs on a private network and only once do I let it get to the internet to do a sw update.  I have a rtc in the master and I put the time server in the slaves as the master fpp.  The slaves don't seem to pick up the time from the master.  I need to see if the master runs as a server or just a client....I haven't looked at all yet but thought I'd hikack the thread as it will remind me that this is on my todo list :-)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Phrog30

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1208
    • View Profile
Re: FPP NTP - does not seem to be working
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2016, 04:58:47 AM »
I just leave the NTP server field blank and the FPP finds one.
Me too.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk


Offline Ebuechner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
    • View Profile
Re: FPP NTP - does not seem to be working
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2016, 06:04:57 AM »
Mine was doing the exact same thing. My fix was just getting a $7 real time clock just to make sure. My pi is located in the Attic So I didn't always want to count on a good Wireless signal

Offline jnealand

  • Code-Testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 994
    • View Profile
Re: FPP NTP - does not seem to be working
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2016, 11:15:27 AM »
I'm also having issues with name resolution on some Pis even though the network and hardware configs are identical except for the device number in the ip.  I think there are issues with dns name resolution is FPP but that is an issue to be discussed on the falcon forum and not here.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA