Author Topic: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???  (Read 1671 times)

Offline needbrew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2017, 08:17:23 AM »
How did you connect from xlights to the boards.  Do you have a USB to DMX converter?  If so what are you using.  I am interested in getting xlxights to control a servo skull I have so any informationn is appreciated.

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4060
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #16 on: February 04, 2017, 06:39:31 PM »
Anything that will do DMX. I started by using an output on a F16v2. I've also got an Entec USB dongle that works  fine also.

Offline needbrew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #17 on: February 08, 2017, 04:07:27 AM »
Thanks.  Going to give it a whirl on a skull that I have

Offline ozaz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2017, 01:37:02 PM »
Gil, now you've done such a great job on the skulltronix heads, could you please make a Model style / image for DMX Floods/Spots.
I know just enough to be dangerous :0

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4060
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2017, 01:43:06 PM »
Gil, now you've done such a great job on the skulltronix heads, could you please make a Model style / image for DMX Floods/Spots.

What's wrong with the DMX 3D option I just added?

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4060
    • View Profile

Offline Ebuechner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #21 on: February 13, 2017, 08:34:47 PM »
Damn Gil, that's sweet. Now I'm going to have to go buy some DMX moving head spotlights just to try that out.

Offline ozaz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2017, 08:00:16 PM »
Keith has come up with a neat alternative to the DMX Floods mapping/layout/visualisation issue and made a nice video how to :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=878M6nNOhAs

thanks Keith


Now to get some moving heads to try Gil's DMX 3D effect...
I know just enough to be dangerous :0

Offline needbrew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #23 on: April 30, 2017, 11:53:40 AM »
Hey Gill,

I am starting to work on my Skull with the Board from Skulltronics and was wondering if you could share how you set it up in xlights and on the Falcon controller?  I am looking at using the DMX4 port on an F-16 V2R and am having difficulty figuring out what goes where.

Offline needbrew

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #24 on: June 18, 2017, 03:12:17 PM »
Bump.  I have been unable to figure out how to get the pinout from the DMX4 on the falcon board to talk to the skull I have set-up.  At this point I have no idea how to even test this.  I have the starting channel or the skull set to 8, and in my Falcon F16 I have dmx4 set to start at channel 8.  I have taken wires 1, 2, and 8 form the cat5 cable and mapped them to the 1, 2, 3 on the control board.  I cannot get the servos to move or do anything.

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4060
    • View Profile
Re: DMX RGB LED Smoke / Fog machine - how to model and sequence it???
« Reply #25 on: June 18, 2017, 04:59:36 PM »
I've always had my start channel set to 9 but you will need to set the Falcon to start at channel 1 because you need the skull to be offset 8 channels into the universe.  Also there is a power channel right in front of the Jaw channel which I do not have mapped into the DmxModel.  That channel needs to be written with a 1 then a 0 to turn on the board electronics.  You could map a different model to run the power.  It seemed non-standard so I didn't try to make it part of the built-in model.  I usually will run my Skull a few seconds using a sequence in VSA which will activate that channel.