Author Topic: Convert Channel/Universe Mappings  (Read 524 times)

Offline PeteyMoon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Convert Channel/Universe Mappings
« on: May 10, 2017, 07:59:42 AM »
In LOR, I have a 24 string megatree with string 1, being universe 1, on the far left then rotating counter-clockwise with each string being it's own universe from 1-12 but then skipping 13-16 because I'm using a different falcon controller, and the back half are universes 17-28.

When I do a convert, it appears that universes 13-16 being blank are causing issues with the rendering/preview. I tried removing the universes from the Setup tab, no good.  I then tried to create those universes with a value of 0 but it would only allow me to put a channel of '1' in there.  I confirmed in LOR that there are no references to 13-16, and even when the convert completes, it shows 0 channels converted.

To make the conversion successful, do the universes need to be consecutive (i.e.1-24 instead of the way I have it set) or should I be able to convert it the way I mentioned?  Should I also abandon the whole concept of unicast and just go with multicast?

Thanks

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4553
    • View Profile
Re: Convert Channel/Universe Mappings
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2017, 08:31:50 AM »
First off what is your workflow because I'm not sure doing a Convert is the right thing.  If you are bringing in LOR data and then doing more work you need to learn how to bring it in as a Data Layer instead of doing a Convert operation.

But when doing a Convert you should click the Show Verbose Channel Mapping option which will give an exact list of how xLights is mapping your LOR channels.  You need to keep making changes till that mapping result is perfect then you are good to go.  I would have to experiment to answer the question but you can do that also.  You didn't say what you have defined in the Setup tab in xLights.  Are 13-16 defined?  Some people find it easier to just create all the inbetween unused universes in LOR.  I'm not convinced that's necessary but surely if you define them on both sides it should match up.

Offline PeteyMoon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Convert Channel/Universe Mappings
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2017, 08:56:18 AM »
Thanks for the feedback.

I've been able to do data layer imports without issue but my only concern/question with importing it as a data layer is do I need to keep the LMS in the original location permanently? If so, that would be ok on my build machine but I could see this being an issue long term especially as I want to use FPP.  Of course I could be wrong with that but it was my understanding watching the different videos on the topic.

I'll try to add the 'skipped' universes in LOR and bring them in to see if it helps and will make sure they match up with what's in the Setup tab.  I really want this to work as xlights is soooo much better and more powerful than LOR,

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4553
    • View Profile
Re: Convert Channel/Universe Mappings
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2017, 09:16:46 AM »
Ok so firstly the Convert function should use the same code as the Data Layer creation so you should get the same data its just that a Data Layer gets stored in an alternate file that is OR'ed into the sequence instead of the Convert which brings the data into the FSEQ file but then it can be permanently destroyed when any effects are placed over the data.  Data Layer data is never destroyed.

The link to the LMS file is only necessary if you hit the "Re-Import" button.  So if you don't need to change the source data and re-import it the it doesn't matter if that link is no longer valid.  It was there for convenience to be able to make an adjustment in LOR and pull in the changes.