Author Topic: LOR will not run on the PI  (Read 308 times)

Offline scuba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
LOR will not run on the PI
« on: November 25, 2017, 05:54:08 PM »


I've also posted of Falcon Forum

My hardware setup has changed very little since last year, but I'm having an issue that may be Xlights related. 

Using Xlights to generate the sequences. (i've been using it for years..Nutcracker).  It's a new iMAC and I didn't have the Virtual Com Port Drivers installed.  Made mods to the sequences updated the setup tab. Loaded the rendered files to the FPP. E1.31 works great, but the LOR channels don't work.  The LOR controllers CTB16PC have the blinking 2/second flashes but no solid LED to indicate an active network.

Also: Xlights Setup showed the LOR as NOT CONNECTED (didn't have the virtual com device drivers loaded) in the setup tab when I was editing my sequences. I'm on a Mac and can't use any of the LOR software to check the controllers.   .

Very big problem since tomorrow is the start of the show and I'll be out of town for a week on Monday!

A little help would be wonderful. 

Offline PvtJoker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: LOR will not run on the PI
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2017, 08:16:16 PM »
I have a Mac and did not have to do anything to com ports.. This might be a stupid question and I'm sure you did this since you had the same setup as last year but did you attach the LOR crossover cable between your switch/router and the 1st LOR box?

Offline scuba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
Re: LOR will not run on the PI
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2017, 09:00:19 PM »
Ah no..just a normal cat 5 cable...do I need to run a cross over cable?
I don't remember if I had to!

BTW: the very first sequence runs , but anyone after that doesn't .. the status light stays on for the first sequence, but after that it just blinks waiting for network direction.

Your input would be very helpful!
John

Offline JonB256

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 738
    • View Profile
    • My Christmas Website
Re: LOR will not run on the PI
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2017, 02:57:43 PM »
I have a Mac and did not have to do anything to com ports.. This might be a stupid question and I'm sure you did this since you had the same setup as last year but did you attach the LOR crossover cable between your switch/router and the 1st LOR box?

If I'm reading this right, you are talking about connecting a CAT5 cable (of some sort) between an LOR Controller and an Ethernet switch or Ethernet router.

If that is correct, DON'T DO IT.  Most or all LOR controllers put voltage on one of their RJ45 pins. That voltage may permanently damage an Ethernet device.

If I'm reading that wrong, then we have a terminology problem.

Offline JMHaro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: LOR will not run on the PI
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2017, 07:54:30 AM »
If that is correct, DON'T DO IT.  Most or all LOR controllers put voltage on one of their RJ45 pins. That voltage may permanently damage an Ethernet device.

If I'm reading that wrong, then we have a terminology problem.

Probably late on joining this conversation, but I agree with that last comment.  I run my LOR network off of a Pixcon16 controller board (which I think some other boards have the same capability for DMX outputs).  That board connects directly to the network hub and using the DMX output (with LOR jumpers) I connect the first LOR controller to it and daisy chain from that LOR controller to others.  I haven't had any problems with this setup.

Offline scuba

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
    • View Profile
Re: LOR will not run on the PI
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2018, 05:18:52 PM »
this is way too late to make a difference: 

I fixed the problem with the Pi by finally figuring out (with a lot of support) how to load the boot SD with the current version.  The problem laid in how I was configuring the network setup.  It turns out the latest version of FPP requires a functioning internet connection.  I was using both the Eth0 and Wan on the Pi.  The Pi Wan is on my wifi network and I can see the network from my computer and comm with the Pi.  when the Pi installed the boot and FPP software it needed to go to the internet to get additional software to properly config the Pi.  It couldn't do it.

The follow attachment will show the network setup and the eth0 config (local LAN only).

The mistake I made was to put to input a gateway into the  eth0 setup.  BIG NO NO!  The Pi will default to the eth0 interface first.  and since I told it there was a gateway, it kept on trying to reach the required websites thru that interface.

Once I removed the gateway, all was good.  the Pi used the Wan interface and loaded the required software. the latest software works with the LOR controllers very well.