Author Topic: Variable Playback Speed Option  (Read 2850 times)

Offline kevinp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
    • View Profile
Variable Playback Speed Option
« on: June 06, 2015, 01:03:40 PM »
Is the variable playback speed option fully functional right now?  If I click in the wave form and then select one of the speed options, it plays the music file at the selected speed, but I don't get a visual indication within the wave form where it's at.  If I highlight a selection within the wave form to repeat, then select a playback speed xLights seems to begin playback at the selected speed from the beginning of the file, still no visual indicator.

Would it make more sense that whatever speed option you have selected is the speed of the playback when you press the play button (sequencer tab) versus the current way of handling the variable speed playback?

Kevin
Kevin Pankratz
Blaine MN

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6946
    • View Profile
Re: Variable Playback Speed Option
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2015, 03:01:42 PM »
All the playback speed stuff is working fine for me.  I get visual feedback....the line in the waveform moves slower.  It plays from where I tell it to play.  Any way to capture a video of how yours is working?

Offline kevinp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
    • View Profile
Re: Variable Playback Speed Option
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2015, 06:34:10 PM »
OK, I played with it a little more and found my issue.  You need, at least I do, to have the audio playing first, select a playback speed and then the waveform line will be moving correctly at the selected speed.

If I click in the waveform to select a start point and select a playback speed next, then the audio starts playing but the line does not move to indicate location in the waveform.  Plus with this sequence for the variable playback speed, the stop button remains greyed out.  The only way to stop the audio then is to click play (which begins playback again at the waveform line) then click stop.  Running under OS X.

So the variable speed is working, just not how I expected it to work.  The one enhancement I'd like to see, like I mentioned in my first post, is that the audio plays at the selected playback speed when you click the play button.  Seems more intuitive that way to me, but I'm not sure what would all be involved on the programming side?
Kevin Pankratz
Blaine MN

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6946
    • View Profile
Re: Variable Playback Speed Option
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2015, 08:46:03 PM »
The way you are suggesting it work is the way its working for me.  By the way you keep acting like it's starts playing when you select the speed.  I assume you mean you select the speed and then you are hitting the play button. 

Offline kevinp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
    • View Profile
Re: Variable Playback Speed Option
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2015, 09:23:55 PM »
If I select a speed option from the audio drop down menu, yes, it starts playing for me at that speed but with no visual indicator in the waveform.  I do not have to click play if I select the speed first.  To get it to stop then, I have to click play first, then stop.

This very well could be a Mac OS X only issue that maybe Dan could look into if he's bored.  Not a huge issue since there is a work around.  Just doesn't work how I'd expect it to work.
Kevin Pankratz
Blaine MN

Offline stretchtree

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Variable Playback Speed Option
« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2015, 12:03:29 AM »
I am getting the same thing as Kevin on my mac- the slower speed playback, doesn't work unless the music is playing first- then you change the music speed.

Offline Gilrock

  • Supporting Member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6946
    • View Profile
Re: Variable Playback Speed Option
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2015, 08:59:12 AM »
We use a wxWidgets media control which relies on the default player installed on your OS.  So on windows its Windows Media Player.  All we do is call PlayerDlg->MediaCtrl->SetPlaybackRate(playSpeed);.  So it's really up to the media player on your OS as to what its going to do with that call.  On windows that doesn't start playback.  Dan developed that feature so I assumed it was working on Mac and I'm not sure if its possible that different people could end up with different underlying media players handling those calls.

Offline kevinp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 373
    • View Profile
Re: Variable Playback Speed Option
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2015, 07:33:46 AM »
Verified as Gil had said that it does work under Windows as expected.  Just not Mac OS X.  I will open up a Github issue ticket for a future bug fix if possible.
Kevin Pankratz
Blaine MN